The Investment Industry Association of Canada (IIAC) has announced its 2018-19 Board of Directors, including the re-appointment of Charyl Galpin, Chief Regulatory Officer of BMO Wealth Management, as IIAC Board Chair. Steven Donald, Executive Vice-President, CI Financial Corp., has been re-appointed as Vice-Chair.

“I am honoured to continue serving as Chair of the IIAC,” said Galpin in an announcement this week. “I look forward to working with our Board to ensure the IIAC remains an effective advocate for member firms, fighting for efficient regulation and capital markets, promoting capital formation and supporting members with services and resources to help ensure their success,” she added.

Sweeping regulatory reform

“Our Board’s experience and expertise will be a tremendous asset as the IIAC continues to lead Canada’s investment industry through sweeping regulatory reform and technology-driven transformation of business operations in response to client demand and competitive pressures,” said Ian Russell, IIAC President and CEO.

In addition to Galpin and Donald, IIAC’s Board for 2018/2019 includes: Roger Casgrain, Casgrain & Company; Pruyn Haskins, Scotiabank; Dave Kelly, TD Wealth; Jeff Kennedy, Cormark Securities Inc.; David Lang, RBC; Benoit Lauzé, CIBC World Markets Inc.; Martin Lavigne, National Bank Financial, Wealth Management; Andrew Marsh, Richardson GMP Limited; Sylvain Perreault, Desjardins Group; Stuart R. Raftus, Canaccord Genuity Wealth Management (Canada); Richard Rousseau, Raymond James Ltd.; Ian Russell, The Investment Industry Association of Canada and Deborah Starkman, GMP Capital.